Michigan Carp

Trip reports, findings, events, and general experiences with tenkara fishing. Tell other tenkara enthusiasts about your tenkara experience

Michigan Carp

Postby gary.demars1@gmail.com » Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:31 am

I am new to Tenkara and had a very interesting fishing event today in Michigan... I used a new 12ft. Iwana with a 4.5 level line and 6x tippet tied to a small white pan-fish popper. I was hoping to catch some Bluegill in a pond I never fished before. The sky was cloudy and I could see some fishing rising so I thought all was well. I cast out the white popper and let it drift in the pond. The action now started – out of the deep came up a large Carp to see what was happening on the water surface. It looked at the popper slowly and I should have pulled the popper back to protect this rod, but I did not. The Carp hit the popper and I set the hook and the fight started. My Iwana rod did a full U bend as I tired to hold onto the fish. It was a no win as he could not get away, and I could not drag him in. The rod stayed up fighting the fish but the Carp eventually snapped the tippet. I held it for a while but the Carp won out on this event.

Gary
gary.demars1@gmail.com

Re: Michigan Carp

Postby rvrgzr » Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:25 am