Unsuccessful So Far... Help!

Trip reports, findings, events, and general experiences with tenkara fishing. Tell other tenkara enthusiasts about your tenkara experience

Unsuccessful So Far... Help!

Postby dmn826 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 3:53 pm

Hi All,

I'm new to Tenkara and so far, I've only hooked one trout (didn't land it, as I was too excited and it was my first night out). I've hit some hot spots on the Eagle River and Colorado River and some medium-small creeks that I know hold quite a few brookies (I used to work for my local aquatic biologist). I have tried the Tenkara flies that came with the rod, an assortment of dry flies, midges... ordered some tungsten bead rainbow warrior midge nymphs on Amazon that will be here today.

I wonder if it's my presentation. I've watched the videos over and over and feel like I've been casting correctly. My tippet is about 4 ft long. I've mostly been out at sundown in holes where trout were rising. Our streams and rivers get a lot of pressure, so they may just be picky. At one point, a brown was in the hole I was next to and I held my tippet between my fingers while dangling my wet fly right in front of him with no interest! :lol: :roll:

What would you try for autumn mid-sized high mountain streams in Colorado? I'm primarily fishing in Eagle County. Maybe Boulder tomorrow, depending on how my conference goes. I'll be reaching out to local guides but wanted some insight from all the Tenkara enthusiasts here.

All the best,
dmn826

Re: Unsuccessful So Far... Help!

Postby TJ @ Tenkara USA » Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:14 am

Have you tried all these main techniques?

https://youtu.be/ItgHMloFezs

I normally start with a size 12 non weighted Sakasa Kebari and use all these techniques and move move move up or downstream if they are not taking.

TJ
Tenkara USA, Director of Customer Service

Tenkara Junkie - Tenkarajankī
Now sporting all of the Tenkara USA Rods!
TJ @ Tenkara USA

Postby Rob Ruff » Mon Oct 14, 2019 4:27 pm