Large Rainbow with Ayu Rod

Trip reports, findings, events, and general experiences with tenkara fishing. Tell other tenkara enthusiasts about your tenkara experience

Large Rainbow with Ayu Rod

Postby bwhite » Tue Jun 22, 2010 8:44 pm

Here's a picture of a 25 inch rainbow (about 6lbs.) I caught on the Frying Pan River in Colorado with my AYU 6:4 rod. I used a level line of my own design with a size 20 tungsten head nymph. I wasn't expecting a fish of this size and was lucky to land it with this gear and a 6X tippet.
IMGP0392(4)-1.jpg
IMGP0392(4)-1.jpg (160.86 KiB) Viewed 13295 times
bwhite

Re: Large Rainbow with Ayu Rod

Postby dwalker » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:21 pm

Wow, nice fish. :o

I am new to fly fishing and tenkara fishing. Two weeks ago I received a 12' Iwana and last Saturday an Ayu. I don't expect to catch fish like that but its nice to know that if handled correctly that the Ayu is capable of landing a fish like that if the unexpected fish decides to take your fly.
Tenkara is fundamental fishing fun
dwalker

Postby rsetina » Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:14 am

Good fish and congratulations on landing him on 6X tippet. How long did it take to land him? I've read posts of guys running down river to keep a fish like that on the line.
Rick

テンカラ。小さなストリームのシンプルさ。
My Tenkara Rods:
13' Ayu, 12' Yamame, 11' with a conversion handle, and an Ito.

My Wife's Tenkara Rods:
12' Ebisu and 13.5' Amago, 12' Iwana with a conversion handle, and an Ito.
rsetina

Postby bwhite » Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:37 am

It took about ten minutes to land the fish. He fought hard, but didn't try to make a long run or leave the pool. If he had, I doubt that I could have followed him fast enough. I've had several good-sized fish break my 6X or 7X tippet by making runs. The supple AYU rod really protects light tippets well, but if a large enough fish decides to take off, he's history.
bwhite

Postby wrknapp » Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:50 pm

Amazing!

Randy